Page 1 of 1

Can't change resolution in client (Linux)

PostPosted: 13 Jan 2011, 11:16
by b3nn0
Hey there,
I can only play in 800x600 windowed mode, which is a bit annoying :/
Console output:
Version z2.00
ERROR : Resolution not supported, falling back to 800x600.
Warning : Unable to switch video mode : Couldn't find matching GLX visual
Warning : Couldn't find matching GLX visual
Warning : Retrying with FSAA disabled...OK
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer: GeForce 9600M GT/PCI/SSE2
GL Version: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 260.19.06
Max. Texture Units: 32
Max. Varying Floats: 60
Max. Vertex Attribs: 16
Max. Uniforms in VS: 4096
Max. Uniforms in FS: 2048
GLSL language version: 3.30 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
Shader Model: 4

Thanks,
b3nn0

Re: Can't change resolution in client (Linux)

PostPosted: 18 Jan 2011, 08:23
by Christian
Hi!

Did you try playing around with the settings (different resolution, disable FSAA and anisotropic filtering)?
Also, in windowed mode, the window should be freely resizeable, so try turning fullscren off and then putting the window to fullscreen (this is the way I do it, how it exactly works depends on the window manager I think, in Gnome I have set up a keyboard shortcut).

regards
christian

Re: Can't change resolution in client (Linux)

PostPosted: 19 Jan 2011, 12:32
by b3nn0
Oh right, I diddn't notice that resizing with the window-manager works. That did the trick.
However, no matter what I set up in the Settings-menu, I always get a 800x600 window.
Well, I don't care at all, resizing with the window-manager is enough for me. But just so you know that there seems to be some inconsistency here.

Thanks,
b3nn0

Re: Can't change resolution in client (Linux)

PostPosted: 08 Feb 2011, 18:26
by ArmanX
I had some trouble changing resolution, too; I believe it's the window manager's fault, rather than the game itself. I made this little script to start games:

Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
FILE=`which $1`
shift
xinit $FILE $* -- :1 -config xorg-newscreen.conf


xorg-newscreen.conf is just a copy of my xorg.conf, without the dual-monitor stuff.
You might get a "user not authorized to run the X server, aborting" error message (I did in Ubuntu). To work around this, change "allowed_users=console" in /etc/X11/Xwrapper.config to read "allowed_users=anybody".

I saved the above code as newstart, did
Code: Select all
chmod a+x newstart

and use it like this:
Code: Select all
newstart zero-ballistics

It's quite useful, since I have dual monitors, and for some reason games always want to wrap across both displays... that, and I can switch back and forth between the game and my desktop with ctrl+alt+F7 and ctrl+alt+F8

This is a complicated solution; I'm assuming you know how to edit files as root, that sort of thing... if you need any help, let me know :-)

Re: Can't change resolution in client (Linux)

PostPosted: 02 Dec 2017, 06:44
by slavin
You can get linux client from Tutuapp free download for windows version. All the latest apps are available for free on this app store.

Re: Can't change resolution in client (Linux)

PostPosted: 27 Dec 2017, 14:44
by lukenlow
Your advice helped me solve my problem, thanks for promoting 192.168.1.254

Re: Can't change resolution in client (Linux)

PostPosted: 18 Oct 2018, 11:18
by alazarcoal
Hmm you have shared quite an interesting topic here. I happen to like it a lot and I think I will be posting it on https://educatingessays.co.uk/ as well. People there will have a lot of information to share!

Re: Can't change resolution in client (Linux)

PostPosted: 29 Oct 2018, 10:30
by charlosjohn
Thank you for helping people get the information they need. Great stuff as usual. Keep up the great work!!! Capital Gains Tax Advice

Re: Can't change resolution in client (Linux)

PostPosted: 12 Nov 2018, 08:47
by fuzailfaisal
Positive site, where did u come up with the information on this posting?I have read a few of the articles on your website now, and I really like your style. Thanks a million and please keep up the effective work. orlando commercial cleaning