QuantiCode games

Zero Ballistics, Full Metal Soccer

Skip to content

Moving Mouse causes Insane FPS-Drop [SOLVED]

Post any problems related to the beta version of Zero Ballistics

Moderators: Michael, Bernhard, Christian

Moving Mouse causes Insane FPS-Drop [SOLVED]

Postby Harol on 04 Jul 2008, 12:18

Hello,

I am experiencing a drop from 60 fps to ~5 fps whenever i move my mouse ingame.
Driving or turning the Tank using AWSD does not cause this fps-drop.
The mouse also feels "jumpy" in the menus, but i don't know how to get the profiler to appear there.

My vsync is set to "Use application setting".
I am playing the 1.10 beta in fullscreen (1024x768) on a dual-screen windows XP SP3.

(Sorry for the horrible compression on the images, but the size limit was pretty strict)
Attachments

Moving Mouse Around Compressed.PNG
Moving Mouse Around Compressed.PNG (48.64 KB) Viewed 2441 times

Not Moving Mouse Around Compressed.PNG
Not Moving Mouse Around Compressed.PNG (44.42 KB) Viewed 2440 times
Last edited by Harol on 09 Jul 2008, 00:59, edited 1 time in total.
Harol
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Jul 2008, 11:50
Location: Sweden

Re: Moving Mouse causes Insane FPS-Drop

Postby Michael on 07 Jul 2008, 13:35

Harol wrote:... I am playing the 1.10 beta in fullscreen (1024x768) on a dual-screen windows XP SP3.


Hi,

your mouse is propably jumping out of the 3D accelerated screen into the non-accelerated screen, causing the massive performance drop. Could you try to start our game with only one screen connected and see if the problem persists?

thanks,
Michael.
Michael
Developer
 
Posts: 204
Joined: 29 Mar 2008, 17:19

Re: Moving Mouse causes Insane FPS-Drop

Postby Harol on 08 Jul 2008, 00:24

Hi,

Having started the game on one screen in 800x600 on the same computer, the change is as follows:

203 fps to 4.8 fps
"missing" goes from 0.18 ms to 196 ms

It's smoother now and the lag takes longer to appear.

When i measure this i move the mouse in round circles (3-4 rotations per second). The framerate then drops over ~6 seconds until it reaches the values above. (on the dualscreen it reached maximum laggyness after only ~3 seconds)
Harol
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Jul 2008, 11:50
Location: Sweden

Re: Moving Mouse causes Insane FPS-Drop

Postby Harol on 09 Jul 2008, 00:58

Hello,

I have no idea how or why, but now it's fixed itself.

Here are the steps that i took:

1. I installed NVTray (To get a fps counter inside the menu)

2. I started the game (fullscreen 800x600)
3. I tried moving the mouse around in the menu. FPS dropped from ~700 to 4.
4. I joined the official TDM Server. (was alone, 0 other players)
5. I tried moving the mouse around. FPS dropped from 120 to ~6.
6. I left the server and changed Fullscreen to off. Exited game.

7. I started the game (windowed 800x600)
8. I tried moving the mouse around in the menu. FPS dropped from 700 to 150.
9. I joined the official TDM Server. (was alone, 0 other players)
10. I tried moving the mouse around.
The game instantly froze whenever i tried to move the mouse, and as soon as i stopped moving the mouse the game continued. (this was only when the mouse was controlling my turret, when i had a cursor there were no problems)
11. I left the server and changed Mouse sensitivity in the game from 1/10 to 9/10. Exited game.
12, I changed the sensitivity of the mouse (using the two buttons located on the mouse (Logitech G5)) from "medium" to "low".

13. I started the game (windowed 800x600)
14. I joined the official TDM Server. (was alone, 0 other players)
15. I tried moving the mouse around. FPS dropped from 120 to 30.
16. Profit


And now the game is "cured".

Returning the mouse settings to the way they were before doing this does _NOT_ cause the problem to reappear.
I am now running the game in fullscreen 1024x768 with the games Mouse sensitivity set to 1/10 and the mouses sensitivity set to "medium", and have no problems whatsoever.

The only explanation that i can come up with is that the games default Mouse sensitivity was somehow broken, and changing the setting gave it a proper value. (I never touched that setting before step 11)


Anyhow, many thanks for your help.
/Harol
Harol
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Jul 2008, 11:50
Location: Sweden


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron